Search
Search type

Geography

People

The groups research interests span Geomorphology, Hydrology, Palaeoecology, and Remote Sensing with a thematic focus on Upland Environments.

The group has experience of working in North America, South East Asia, and Europe. A particular focus of current work are the threatened and globally distinctive uplands of the southern Pennines where the group maintains a continually monitored research catchment.

Current academic staff

  • Clive Agnew

    Clive is a Professor of Physical Geography. His interests include upland hydrology, particularly vegetation.

    Email: clive.agnew@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3640

  • Tim Allott

    Tim is a Professor of Physical Geography. His interests include upland waters, diatom palaeoecology and critical loads modelling.

    Email: tim.allott@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3662

  • Gareth Clay

    Gareth is a Lecturer in Physical Geography. His interests include terrestrial carbon cycling and peatlands.

    Email: gareth.clay@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 306 6426

  • Martin Evans

    Martin is a Professor of Geomorphology. His interests include upland geomorphology/hydrology and upland sediment systems.

    Email: martin.evans@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3640

  • Claire Goulsbra

    Claire is a Lecturer in Physical Geography. Her interests include: peatland carbon flux; hydrological connectivity; upland hydrology; fluvial geomorphology; and digital terrain analysis.

    Email: claire.goulsbra@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3645

  • Angela Harris

    Angela is a Lecturer in Remote Sensing. Her interests include remote sensing of peatland carbon balance.

    Email: angela.harris@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 0315

  • Julia McMorrow

    Julia is a Senior Lecturer. Her interests include remote sensing of upland environments.

    Email: julia.mcmorrow@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3649

  • Gail Millin-Chalabi

    Gail is a Lecturer and Research Group Co-ordinator. Her interests include: fire risk management in UK moorlands; radar remote sensing; GIS; OGC Web Services; and data interoperability.

    Email: gail.millin-chalabi@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 8686

  • James Rothwell

    James is a Lecturer in Physical Geography. His interests include pollutant and nutrient fluxes in the fluvial environment.

    Email: james.rothwell@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3624

  • Emma Shuttleworth

    Emma is a Lecturer. Her interests include sediment and pollutant dynamics in degraded peatlands using geochemical and geophysical tracers.

    Email: emma.shuttleworth@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 8686

Current PhD students

Danielle Alderson
Email: danielle.alderson@.manchester.ac.uk

Donald Edokpa
Email: donald.edokpa@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Andrew Stimson
Email: andrew.stimson@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk