Search type

Planning and Environmental Management


Search this page

Press Ctrl+F (Windows) or ⌘ Command+F (Mac) to open the 'Find' box (this works in most browsers). This command can also be found in the 'Edit' menu in Internet Explorer, or in the ☰ menu in Chrome and Firefox.

Please note: If you're using a mobile browser, the Find command is usually in the browser's menu (it is often called 'Find in Page').

If you are using Safari for iOS, delete the address that is in the address bar and type the word you want to search for there instead. Select 'On this page' from the search results that appear.

Academic staff

Dr Ransford Acheampong
Presidential Fellow in Future Cities

Research specialisms: Autonomous transport and shared-mobility; Land use and transport interaction; Urban modelling and simulation; Smart cities; Spatial planning

Prof Mark Baker
Professor of Urban and Regional Planning

Research specialisms: Spatial planning; Regional planning; Strategic planning; Planning practice; UK planning system

Dr Adam Barker
Senior Lecturer in Spatial Planning

Research specialisms: Nature-based solutions; Green and blue infrastructure; Ecosystem services; Environmental assessment

Dr Philip Bell

Dr Philip Black
Lecturer in Urban Design

Research specialisms: Design quality; Design control and governance; Applied urban design process; Urban design and cycling; Culturally sensitive designs

Ms Selma Carson
Senior Lecturer in Real Estate

Mr Iain Deas
Senior Lecturer in Urban and Regional Policy and Planning

Research specialisms: Urban governance and policy; Governance of regions and city-regions; Urban regeneration

Dr Anna Gilchrist
Lecturer in Environmental Management and Ecology

Prof Graham Haughton
Professor of Urban and Environmental Planning

Dr Carys Jones
Senior Lecturer in Environmental Assessment and Management

Research specialisms: Environmental impact assessment; Strategic environmental assessment; Biodiversity

Prof Richard Kingston
Professor of Urban Planning and GIS

Research specialisms: Planning support systems; PPGIS; Geographic Information Science (GIS); Smart cities; Spatial analysis

Dr Caglar Koksal
Lecturer in Planning

Research specialisms: Planning support systems; PPGIS; Geographic Information Science (GIS); Smart cities; Spatial analysis

Dr Ian Mell
Senior Lecturer in Environmental and Landscape Planning 

Research specialisms: Green infrastructure; Planning policy; Landscape planning; Financing green space; Environmental politics

Dr Nuno Pinto
Lecturer in Urban Planning and Urban Design

Research specialisms: Decision support in urban planning; Urban simulation; Integrated urban and transport planning; Quantitative methods in urban planning

Dr Andreas Schulze Baing
Lecturer in Urban Planning

Mr Mark Shepherd
Lecturer in Real Estate

Research specialisms: Property valuation and appraisal; Linking corporate strategy and real estate strategy; Valuer education e-Learning in vocational education

Dr Alfredo Stein Heinemann
Lecturer In Urban Development Planning

Dr Sotirios Thanos
Lecturer in Real Estate and Urban Economics

Research specialisms: Urban and transport economics; Spatial econometrics; Housing and hedonic pricing models; Transportation noise; Non-market valuation 

Dr Joanne Tippett
Lecturer in Spatial Planning

Prof Cecilia Wong
Professor of Spatial Planning

Research specialisms: Strategic spatial planning; Policy monitoring and analysis; Urban and regional development; Housing and infrastructure planning; Urbanisation and planning in China

Dr Yishuang Xu
Lecturer in Real Estate

Research specialisms: Real estate economics; Real estate finance; Portfolio management; Real estate investment; Age-friendly city

Dr Razieh Zandieh
Lecturer in Urban Design and Planning

Research specialisms: Healthy urban planning and design; Walkability and sustainability; Social and spatial inequalities; Age-friendly city

Research associates and fellows

Dr Jeremy Carter
Research Fellow

Dr Angela Connelly
Research Associate

Research specialisms: Climate resilience; Adaptive re-use; Science-policy interface; Co-production/co-design methods; Environmental governance

Dr Yinxuan Huang
Research Associate

Mr Joe Ravetz
Research Fellow

Dr Andrew Snow
Research Associate

Dr Taki Sonbli
Urban Design Officer

Dr Lei Wang
Hallsworth China Political-Economy Fellow

Research specialisms: High-speed rail impacts; Planning system evolution in China; Spatial analysis and modelling; Regional planning and governance; Urban and regional development

Dr Helen Zheng
Research Associate

Honorary and visiting fellows

Mr Dave Carter
Honorary Research Fellow

Dr Stephen Garvin
Honorary Research Fellow

Prof Vincent Goodstadt
Honorary Professorial KE Fellow

Prof John Handley

Prof Michael Hebbert
Professor Emeritus

Dr Philipp Horn
Honorary Research Fellow

Mr Neil McInroy
Honorary Research Fellow

Dr Hui Qian
Honorary Research Fellow

Prof David Rudlin
Honorary Professorial KE Fellow

Dr William Sheate
Honorary Professorial Research Fellow

Prof Gwyn Williams
Professor Emeritus

Prof Chris Wood
Professor Emeritus

Dr Ying Ying Tian
Honorary Research Fellow

Mr Kai Zhou
Honorary Research Fellow