Programme management

The doctoral programmes in SEED are overseen by the PGR Director, Prof Tanja Muller, who is responsible for the overall academic and strategic direction of the programmes.

Tanja is assisted in managing the programmes by:

  • Associate Director for Professional Doctorates, Dr Ishba Rehman, who supports the management and development of SEED’s Professional Doctorate portfolio and related activities.
  • Associate Director, PhD Programmes and Research Training, Dr Jenna Mittelmeier, who supports the management and development of SEED’s PGR activities and programmes.
  • Head of Teaching, Learning and Student Experience, Kelly Osgood, who commissions and manages the professional support for SEED's doctoral programmes.


Prof Tanja Muller Director of Postgraduate Research A1.15 Ellen Wilkinson Building 55964
Dr Ishba Rehman Associate Director for Professional Doctorates A6.13 6th Floor, Ellen Wilkinson Building 58627
Dr Jenna Mittelmeier Associate Director for PhD Programmes and Research Training A5.6 Ellen Wilkinson Building 53400

Department Co-ordinators

Dr Kim Foerster Architecture Department Co-ordinator 1.08, Humanities Bridgeford Street
Dr Abi Stone Physical Geography Department Co-ordinator 1.062 Arthur Lewis Building 53544
Dr Martin Hess  Human Geography Department Co-ordinator 1.055, Arthur Lewis Building 53643
Dr Tanja Bastia GDI Department Co-ordinator 1.064, Arthur Lewis Building 56883
Dr Yueming.zhang PEM Department Co-ordinator 1.33, Humanities Bridgeford Street 66878
Dr Sylvie Lomer
MIE Department Co-ordinator

School PGR committee

The Postgraduate Research Committee manages the Postgraduate Research Programmes in SEED.


This committee is chaired by the Director of Postgraduate Research who is responsible for the overall academic and strategic direction of the programme.

Other members of the committee include discipline co-ordinators and the PGR representative who is elected every year.


The committee meets at regular intervals throughout the academic year, where it discusses and makes decisions on key issues affecting the Programme and its students and reports on University, Faculty and School-level news (such as changes to policy and processes).

The committee is also responsible for considering and granting approval for applications of changes to a student’s programme (eg change of supervisor, research title, mode of attendance, interruption, extension, fieldwork).

Normally such applications are considered by the Chair of the Committee. However, where serious cases arise, these are brought to the full committee for consideration.